Possession of Ecstasy – “Molly”

Ecstasy, or commonly called Molly’s, is a drug created by the chemical MDMA. It is a Schedule 1 drug which means that ecstasy has no acknowledged medical use and has a high potential for abuse.

Penalties for Ecstasy Possession

In California, possession of ecstasy can be charged as either a misdemeanor or felony. It will depend on your history and the information available about your case. A misdemeanor conviction is punishable by up to a year in prison and felony charge can range from 16 months to 3 years. An ecstasy charge is available for Prop 36 and PC 1000 Drug Diversion which can remove the charge from your record.

Transporting or selling ecstasy is a charge that can be levied for bringing ecstasy into California and selling or administering it to another person. This is a felony charge with a possible 2 to 4 year prison sentence.