First Offense DUI

In most DUI cases, even in a first offense DUI, the criminal charges will consist of two offenses:

  1. Driving under the influence of alcohol (Vehicle Code section 23152(a))
  2. Driving with .08% or higher blood-alcohol concentration (Vehicle Code section 23152(b)).

You can be convicted of both offenses, but only punished for one; the penalties are identical. These penalties include:

  • A first offense DUI conviction in California can carry a maximum of six months’ imprisonment, a suspended license for four to six months and a possible interlock ignition device installed on your vehicle. A typical sentence can be a fine of approximately $2,000 and a short jail sentence or time served in a work program. Some DUIs can be reduced to a wet reckless, resulting in lower fines and punishment.
  • A second DUI conviction in California within a ten-year time period can result in up to one year in jail and a suspended license for two years. California may require you to have an ignition interlock device.
  • A third conviction in California within a ten-year time period results in up to one year of jail time, a suspended license for three years and an ignition interlock device. A third conviction results in a minimum of 120 days to one year in jail.

How will a DUI affect my insurance?

A DUI conviction and/or license suspension by the DMV can cause a significant increase in your insurance costs.

An experienced DUI attorney who is knowledgeable about insurance issues can handle your matter in a manner that minimizes insurance increases.

Contact Us

If charged with a DUI, please contact our office at (559) 233-5333 or contact us through our website.